Clean Eating involves chocolate, right?

I follow many fitness inspired Instagramers (is that a word?), in hopes that it will motivate me to eat clean and work out religiously.  Well, as I write this entry, I’m noshing on some chocolate covered pretzels from Trader Joe’s (the best, they are my crack)  and sipping on a fine sauvignon blanc.  Don’t judge.  However, today’s goal was to meal prep for the week, and after 3 hours of trashing my kitchen, I accomplished it.  I researched some tips today and stumbled across Amber’s meal prep for beginners.   She offers some good basic info to get you started.  Below is a simple meal I whipped up to last me throughout the week.

Healthy Mexican Jumble

1 lb of ground turkey

1 small sweet onion, diced

2 gloves of garlic, minced

1 sweet pepper, diced

1 cup of quinoa, cooked

1 avocado, diced

1 15oz can of black bean, only drain half of the liquid

1 packet of taco seasoning (I usually get the packet from Trader Joe’s, and only use about 1/2 of it)

handful of fresh cilantro

sprinkle, handful, several cups of goat cheese (whatever you’re into, I’m into the latter)

I cook the turkey (with the taco seasoning) and the quinoa separately.  As that’s cooking, I sauté the onions, garlic, and sweet peppers together.  After everything is cooked, I mix it all together and add the black beans, avocado,  and cilantro.

This meal is great because you can use it throughout the week in a variety of dishes.  One night I will use lettuce wraps and make a healthy turkey taco, another night I will gut out a sweet potato and make a Mexican sweet potato.  Either way, it’s nice knowing that dinner isn’t going to require major effort, whereas I usually get frustrated and pour myself a nice bowl of cheerios.  Because if I don’t prep my meals out for the week, I eat like an 8 year old.

How do you manage to eat healthy throughout the week?

 

 

Leave a Reply

